Sunday, 21 July, 2024

Pro Gratia special needs schoolprize giving mbombela

Special-needs school celebrates learners at prize giving

Pro Gratia Learning Centre last week celebrated its children’s progress and accomplishments during a prize-giving ceremony at the Mbombela Stadium.

The event was attended by children, parents and teachers.

Pro Gratia Learning Centre is a non-profit organisation that provides a learning environment for learners with a below-average, borderline, and cognitively challenged intellectual capacity.

“Our premises lend itself to a tranquil farm-school atmosphere,” says CEO, director and founder Welma Bezuidenhout.

The school’s holistic approach to education integrates therapeutic and remedial techniques into learners’ individual learning programmes.

“At Pro Gratia our main objective is to guide learners to reach their full potential as individuals,” says Welma.

Learners were given recognition for their individual progress in linguistics, mathematics, life orientation, social and natural science, and technology, as well as a wide range of practical courses.

“We focus on supporting each learner to feel significant as a person,” Welma said.

Each learner’s strengths were emphasised from their phase-one early-childhood development to phase five differentiated CAPS phase where learners are equipped with practical life skills enabling them to function as semi-independent adults.

The following learners received entrepreneur certificates:

Sumieke Brits, Sibusisiwe Dlamini, Eduan Labuschagne, Luke Fox, Asad Hayat, Thandiwe Khumalo, Vee Mahlangu, S’yabonga Mathebula, Mbulelo Madonsela, Lunga Mnisi, Lunga Mulungo, Vuthlarhi Ngwenya, Nick Prinsloo, Lihle Nkambule, Renny Nkosi, Vuyo Nqwenya, Thabo Shabangu, Tiisetso Theledi and Thandiwe Khumalo.

The following learners were rewarded for extramural activities:

Arno Beukes, Jaden du Plessis, Helena Jacobs, Luche Lindeque en Nikita van Aswegen.
Phyzz Ed Sportz
Mbulelo Madonsela, S’yabonga Mathebula, Lulama Mlangeni, Thando Shongwe, Hlelo Moripe and Unathi Mulungo.
Eduan Labuschagne.

Class monitors for 2023:

Vuyo Sibuyi, Sipheishle Msimango, Jayden Rautenbach, Eduan Labuschagne, Vuthlarhi Ngwenya, Nick Prinsloo, Luke Fox, Sibusisiwe Dlamini, Thabo Shabangu, S’yabonga Mathebula, Vuyo Ngwenya and Musa Nkosi.

Vee Mahlangu, Unathi Mulungo, Thandiwe Khumalo, Lihle Nkambule, Renny Nkosi and Lethu Nyundu.

Leave a Reply