Wednesday, 20 October, 2021


SA Goldpanning champs held in Prilgrim’s Rest

As its foundations are in gold mining, Pilgrim’s Rest is no stranger to gold-panning. And last week the historical town hosted the South African National Gold Panning Championships.

The event is run by the South African Gold Panning Association over four days. The association has made it its goal to develop the championships to meet the standards set by the World Gold Panning Association.

Team Mpumalanga was the winning provincial team and, looking at the winners in each category, it is not surprising.

The World Goldpanning Championships will be held in Poland next year and the big news is that Pilgrim’s Rest will be hosting the world Goldpanning Championships in 2023.

Category: Proficient Men
First: Sanjay Singh (top middle) from Nelspruit, who is also the president of the World Goldpanning Association. Second: Africa Mohlala (bottom, right) from Groblersdal. Third: Diaan van Heerden (bottom, left) from Graskop.

Category: Proficient Ladies
Winner: Linda Traill (top middle) from Graskop. Second: Sue Steynberg (bottom right) from Waterval Boven. Third: Hildegard van der Heever (bottom left) from Sabie.

Category: Juniors
Winner: Ntando Fakude (top middle) from Pilgrims Rest. Second: Ntlhari Mokoena (bottom left) from Malamole. Third: Ashanda Moekoena (bottom right) from Pilgrim’s Rest.

Category: Veterans
Winner: Hester Liebenberg (top middle) from Nelspruit. Second: Sherry Goodwin (bottom left) from Pilgrim’s Rest. Third: Elna Gundry (bottom right) from Pilgrim’s Rest

Category: Traditional Klondike Pan
Winner: Sendra Nsimbi (top middle) from Pilgrim’s Rest. Second: Sherry Goodwin (bottom left) from Pilgrim’s Rest. Third: Essie Mogane (bottom right) from Pilgrim’s Rest.

Category: Children
Winner: Pillar Maphanga (top middle) from Pilgrim’s Rest. Second: Mischa Liebenberg (bottom left) from Pongola. Third: Sebastian van Biljon (bottom right) from Nelspruit.

Top Provincial Team: Team Mpumalanga.
Top: Sue Steynberg, Diaan van Heerden and Hildegard van der Heever. Bottom: Linda Traill and Samjay Singh.

Leave a Reply